Home About Us Features Programmes




Notification Month



Start of Online Application process


Through JEE Main

Closing of Online Application process



Examination Month


May (B.Tech. courses) (for eligible candidate through JEE Main) June (B.Arch)

No. of Papers


Main Qualifying Examination

2 Papers

Paper - 1 (PCM)

Paper - 2 (PCM)

Duration : Each paper is of 3 hrs.

Marking Scheme : There will be negative marking in some section wherever indicated for the wrong answers.


Candidates desirous of joining the B.Arch., courses will be required to qualify in an Aptitude Test to be conducted at all zonal IITs in June, 2015. However the seat allotment will be done based on the category wise all India Rank in the JEE (Advanced) - 2015. The test will consist of one paper of three hours duration - from 09.00 to 12:00 hrs. Question papers for Aptitude Test for B.Arch. will be in English only.

Duration : 3 hrs.

Pattern of Papers


(i) For B.Tech Courses: Objective

(Comprehension, Reasoning and Analytical Ability)

(ii) Aptitude Test (Only for candidates opting for B.Arch. courses)

Eligibility Criteria




ABOUT JEE (Advanced) - 2016

JEE (Advanced) - 2016 will be jointly conducted by IIT Bombay, IIT Delhi, IIT Guwahati, IIT Kanpur, IIT Kharagpur, IIT Madras and IIT Roorkee. These institutes are henceforth referred to as the zonal IITs under the guidance of the Joint Admission Board (JAB). The details of the pattern and the dates of examination, eligibility criteria and how to apply are outlined below.


ELIGIBILITY FOR JEE (Advanced) - 2016

Candidates who wish to appear JEE (Advanced) - 2016 must write Paper-1 of JEE (Main) - 2016 in the month of April 2016. For eligibility conditions to appear in JEE (Main) - 2016, please refer http://www.Jeemain.nic.in. Only to 1,50,000 candidates (including all categories) who qualify in paper - 1 of JEE (Main) - 2016 will be eligible to appear for JEE (Advanced) - 2016.


Distribution of top 1,50,000 candidates across various categories is as follows:

->   Top 75750 (50.5%) from Common Merit List

->   Top 40500 (27%) from Other Backward Classes-Non creamy layer OBC (NCL)

->   Top 22500 (15%) from Scheduled Caste (SC)

->   Top 11250 (7.5%) from Scheduled Tribe (ST)

3% of the total candidates in each category are reserved for PwD candidates as per GoI norms.


Minimum Marks in Qualifying Examination (QE)

Admission to IITs and ISM Dhanbad will be based only on category wise All India Rank (AIR) in JEE (Advanced) - 2016, subject to the condition that such candidates are in the top 20 percentile of successful candidates of their Boards in respective categories.


In case a Board does not provide the information regarding the cut-off for top 20 percentile of successful candidates, the candidate will have to produce a certificate from the concerned Board stating that he/she falls within the top 20 percentile. In case the percentile score is not available from any testing agency, the CBSE cut-off score for top 20 percentile for the students category will be used.


If the candidate fails to do so, then the CBSE percentile will be used as the criteria for deciding minimum percentage of marks in the qualifying examination.


Candidate who passed their QE in 2015 will be considered on the basis of the top 20 percentile cut off marks of their boards in 2015. Candidate, who passed in 2014 and would improve their performance of QE in 2016, will be considered on the basis of 2016 cut off marks of their respective Boards in their respective category.


If any Board awards only letter grades with providing an equivalent percentage of marks on the grade sheet, the candidate should obtain a certificate from the Board specifying the equivalent marks, and submit it at the time of counseling. In case such a certificate is not provided the decision taken by the Joint Implementation Committee (JIC) of JEE (Advanced) - 2016 will be final.


Number of Attempts in JEE (Advanced)

A candidate can attempt JEE (Advanced) a maximum of two times and that too, in consecutive years. Therefore, JEE (Advanced) - 2016 should be either the candidates First attempt OR the SECOND consecutive attempt.


Candidates Admitted Through Earlier JEE Advanced

Candidates who have taken admission (irrespective of whether or not they continued in any of the programmes) or accepted the admission by paying the registration fee at any of the IITs. IT-BHU Varanasi or ISM Dhanbad, are NOT ELIGIBLE to appear in JEE (Advanced) - 2016.



Only those candidates who attempted both Paper-1 and Paper-2 of JEE (Advanced) - 2016 will be considered for the ranking. Marks in Physics in JEE (Advanced) - 2016 will be equal to marks in Physics Part of Paper-1 plus marks in Physics Part of Paper-2. Similar procedures will be followed for Chemistry and Mathematics. The sum of the marks obtained in the individual subject will be the aggregate marks for the candidate.


Rank Lists/Merit Lists

Based on the performance in JEE (Advanced) - 2016, a Common Merit List (CML) will be prepared. Candidates must score at least 10% in each subject and 35% in aggregate in order to be in the CML.

Separate merit lists will be prepared corresponding to OBC (NCL), SC and ST categories. Candidates of OBC (NCL) category must score at least 9% in each subject and 31.5% in aggregate in order to be in the OBC merit list. Candidate of SC and ST categories must score at least 5% in each subject and 17.5% in aggregate in order to be in their respective merit lists.